Alaska DWI Lawyers
|Please choose the borough / census area (CA) where your DUI in Alaska took place:|
Aleutians West (CA)
Fairbanks North Star
Lake and Peninsula
P. of Wales-O. Ketchikan (CA)
Southeast Fairbanks (CA)
Wade Hampton (CA)
You will also face fines between $250 and $5,000. However, when all is said and done, your DWI costs (for a first offense) an average of $22,000 in Alaska. And when you need money the most, a DWI can cost you your job because your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 90 days and getting to work will prove to be a challenge. Other penalties include community service, insurance coverage complications, impoundment of your vehicle, the installation of an ignition interlock system, probation, alcohol treatment courses and even restricted interstate or international travel!
Alaska BAC and Chemical Tests
If your BAC (blood alcohol content) is 0.8% or higher, you can be charged with a DWI in the state of Alaska. To determine your BAC level, Alaska police officials will have you submit to a one of three chemical tests: blood, breathe or urine. A blood test proves to be most accurate, however it must be conducted by a prescribed hospital official (the same is true for a urine test). Breathe tests are given by police officers through a portable breathalyzer machine.
Alaska Field Sobriety Tests
Police officers will test suspected drunk drivers by using one of three field sobriety tests: the horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN), the one leg stand and the walk and turn. The officer will ask you to follow an object with your eyes during the HGN. The one leg stand tests your ability to stay balanced as you raise one leg six inches off the ground. The walk and turn tests your ability to follow an imaginary line without swaying.
Alaska DWI Laws
If you are arrested for a DWI in Alaska, you will face a criminal court case. Additionally, if you are found to have a BAC of 0.8% or higher or you refuse to submit to a chemical test, you will lose your driver’s license immediately if you do not request a DMV hearing within seven days of your arrest. You may still have your license revoked for at least 90 days if you lose at your hearing. You can be prosecuted if you violate Alaska’s “per se” laws of driving with a BAC of 0.8% or higher or from poor chemical test, driving or field sobriety test performance.
If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock system, you will have to breathe into a machine in order to start your vehicle. If the machine detects alcohol of 0.2% or higher, your car will not start.
Under Alaska’s Zero Tolerance law, anyone found driving under the age of 21 with a BAC level of 0.2% or higher will be charged with a DWI.
From punishments to humility, the penalties of a DWI conviction are serious. You must find an experienced DWI lawyer if you want to win your case!