Arizona DUI Lawyers
|Please choose the county where your DUI in Arizona took place:|
A DUI in Arizona can be prosecuted in two ways. If you are found to have a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.8% or higher within 2 hours of driving, this is a violation of Arizona’s “per se” laws. You can also be charged with a DUI if your driving ability is impaired by drugs or alcohol to the slightest degree. Unless your situation is extreme, you will be charged with a misdemeanor.
Administrative License Suspension
You only have 15 days from the date of your arrest to request a hearing with the MVD. Your license can be suspended for up to one year if you refused to submit to a chemical test.
Of the worst, is jail – and for a first offense you could face up to six months. You could also face fines in excess of $2,500. You may be placed on probation for one year or as much as five years. Insurance coverage complications may arise, and you may lose your job if your vehicle is impounded. The MVD will suspend your driver’s license for 90 days. Other penalties include the installation of an ignition interlock system, community service, alcohol treatment classes and restricted travel.
BAC and Chemical Tests
The legal breath test limit for the state of Arizona is 0.8%. The police officer will ask you to submit to a chemical test. You can choose blood, breathe or urine, however breath tests are commonly used because police officers can conduct them at the scene.
Field Sobriety Tests
When a police officer suspects you of driving under the influence, he or she may conduct a horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN), the one leg stand or the walk and turn to test your sobriety. Each test will test skills such as balance, involuntary eye jerking and ability to follow instructions.
The Arizona court may deem it necessary for an ignition interlock system to be installed in your vehicle. The machine requires you to blow into it in order to start your vehicle. If alcohol is detected on your breath, your car will not start.
For a first time offense, if you are under 21 and you have a BAC above .01 but below .18, you will have to serve ten days in jail, pay a fine of at least two hundred fifty dollars and you may also be ordered to perform community service. Your license will be suspended for two years.
Arizona’s DUI laws are serious and so are the penalties. Hiring an experienced DUI lawyer is your only chance of winning your case. Your lawyer can help reduce or eliminate some of the harshest penalties you could be facing.