Colorado DUI Lawyers
|Please choose the county where your DUI in Colorado took place:|
What Penalties May I Expect?
Depending on the severity of the incident you can anticipate a fine of $300 to $1500. On top of that you can expect insurance increases, community service, probation, alcohol education, and on top of that – potential jail time.
BAC and Chemical Testing
If blood alcohol content of .08 or higher is detected, you may be charged with DUI. A BAC of .20 increases the possible fine to $500-$1500. In addition, there is a mandatory 10 days in jail with a possibility of 1 year, 1 year license suspension, and 60-120 hours of community service. If the offender is under the age of 21 and alcohol content of .02 is found, their license will be revoked for 1 year and criminal charges will be filed.
Field Sobriety Tests
There are 3 basic field sobriety tests (FST). Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) is a more recent and arguably accurate way of determining driving impairment. This involves the police office watching the suspect’s eyes follow an object (such as a pen). Any lack of smooth pursuit may indicate intoxication. The other 2 standard FSTs are the one leg stand and the walk and turn. Unfortunately, there are many pre-existing physical conditions that can result in failure to any of the tests.
How does blowing into an inaccurate Breathalyzer machine every time you start your car and at random intervals while driving sound? Practical? We didn’t think so. With the advent of new technology, breath alcohol devices have become smaller and are now being installed in offender’s vehicles. Unfortunately, they can be a serious nuisance and danger to the motorist and others on the road.
Colorado has a zero tolerance law for drivers under the age of 21 who test with even an insignificant level of BAC. If you fall into this category, it’s imperative you contact a lawyer to protect your future. You’re too young to allow a DUI charge to devastate your hopes and dreams.
Find a DUI Lawyer Near You Today!
With a lawyer you can have a fair defense against your DUI charge in Colorado. General lawyers may be great for certain legal matters, but not with a DUI charge. This is a serious charge and you need to contact a lawyer specializing in DUI law.
We’ve done the work finding a qualified DUI lawyer near you. They’re ready to listen to your case and get to work on it. It’s your turn to act and protect your job, money, dignity, and freedom.