Connecticut DWI Lawyers
Please choose the county where your DWI in Connecticut took place:
If convicted of a DWI in the state of Connecticut the penalties (whether direct or collateral) vary. You can expect higher insurance costs, probation, community service, alcohol education/assessment, license suspension, $500-$1000 fine, job loss, and 2 days to 6 months in jail.
Even refusing to submit a blood alcohol content test will result in a driver’s license suspension for 6 months. If the driver does submit and the results are over the legal limit you can face a fine of 90 to 120 days.
Upon conviction the court may also order that an ignition interlock device be installed on the offender’s vehicle. This device requires the driver to blow into it before driving and at random intervals while driving. This is a serious annoyance and potentially dangerous device. They are also less accurate than law enforcement breath testing devices.
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
The legal BAC limit in Connecticut is .08. Test results of .16 or higher may result in greater fines and jail time. If this is not the driver’s first conviction, the penalties begin to increase dramatically.
Field Sobriety Tests (FST)
The 3 most recognized FST are Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN), stand on one leg, and walk and turn. HGN requires the police officer to watch the suspect’s eyes follow an object. Any deviation or lack of smooth pursuit may indicate intoxication. Standing on one leg requires the driver to do just that while the officer observes any imbalance. Walk and turn observes the drivers ability to walk in a straight line. For any of theses tests to be accurate they assume the driver is in a particular physical condition. Unfortunately there are many pre-existing conditions that can cause failure to any FST. A good DWI defense attorney can successfully defend a FST failure.
In Connecticut if the driver is under the age of 21 and found with a BAC of .02 or higher their license will be suspended for 90 days and criminal charges will be filed.
The Importance of a DWI Lawyer
If you have been charged with a DWI in Connecticut, do not contact a general law lawyer. A DWI charge is serious and can only be properly defended by attorneys who handle cases like yours day in and day out. Please protect your future and contact a DWI lawyer near you immediately.