Delaware DUI Lawyers
|Please choose the county where your DUI in Delaware took place:|
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
The BAC limit is .10 in the state of Delaware. If BAC of .20 or greater is found the potential consequences increase.
Administrative License Suspension
A police office may request a driver to submit to Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) testing. This may be administered by testing urine, blood, or breath. Refusing to submit carries a penalty of 1 year for first offenders. The penalty is 18 months for second offenders and 24 months for three or more offenses. If you submit to the test and your BAC is .10 or higher you face a suspension of 3 months or longer in addition to criminal charges.
Field Sobriety Tests (FST)
In Delaware law enforcement use 3 basic FST. Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (observing eye movement), stand on one leg, and the walk and turn test. All of them judge physical behavior of the driver, thus can be defended by a competent DUI attorney.
In addition to traditional penalties there have been more recent creative attempts to cease drunk driving. Delaware is now utilizing an ignition interlock device that requires the driver to breath into it before driving and randomly while driving. The cost of installation is often paid by the offender.
Delaware Zero Tolerance
Drivers under the age of 21 with a BAC of .02 or higher are subject to penalties outlined by the state’s zero tolerance law. The driver’s license will be suspended for 2 months to 1 year and a fine of $400 to $1000 will be imposed.
Reduce or Eliminate Your DUI Charge!
Hiring a skilled lawyer who works with cases like yours every single day gives you a fair chance at retaining your money, job, dignity, and freedom. We’ve done the work finding skilled DUI lawyers in Delaware. Don’t risk your future. Contact a DUI lawyer immediately.