Georgia DUI Lawyers
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
In the State of Georgia you are driving under the influence if your BAC is .08 or higher. You may also be arrested if your BAC is below .08 and law enforcement determines you appear to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
The Court may also require the convicted to have an ignition interlock device installed. This keeps the car from being started by requiring the driver to blow into the device before starting the car and also at random intervals while driving. The offender will be responsible for paying for the install and any regular service / calibration. This may be a fair compromise in retaining driving privileges. However, the machines can be inaccurate and a nuisance.
Field Sobriety Tests (FST)
Law enforcement conducts 3 general FST to aid in determining a suspect’s intoxication level. Known as Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN), police follow the eyes of the driver and check for any deviation or lack of smooth pursuit. The walk and turn test require the driver to walk 10 steps, turn, and walk back. Stand on one leg test request that the suspect do just that. While the driver is performing, the Officer is checking for balance and ability to follow directions. Unfortunately these tests require a certain level of physical fitness that not everyone qualifies for.
Drivers Under 21
For drivers under 21 the BAC limit is reduced to only .02 - a nearly negligible amount. This is known as Zero Tolerance. If found with BAC of .02 - .08 the driver’s license will be suspended for 6 months. For BAC over .08 the suspension is increased to 12 months.
It’s time to stop living in fear and get assistance from lawyers who specialize in DUI cases like yours every day. Don’t expect any Southern hospitality from the Judge. Let a DUI lawyer battle on your behalf in the court room.