Kansas DUI Lawyers
Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)
In Kansas you are DUI with a Blood Alcohol Level (BAL) of .08 or higher. The DUI level is lowered to a BAL of .02 for drivers under 21. For commercial drivers the BAL is .04. Higher levels of BAC may result in enhanced charges.
Field Sobriety Tests (FST) and Chemical Testing
If a peace officer has reason to suspect a driver of intoxication they will request the subject to complete FST or chemical testing, or a combination of both. FST rely on physical behavior to judge BAC or intoxication. The 3 most common FST are Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN), walk and turn, and stand on one leg. Unfortunately these tests expect a certain level of physical condition that does not apply to all drivers. Chemical testing examines samples of the suspect’s blood, breath, or urine to determine BAC.
Administrative License Suspension (ALS)
In Kansas if a driver refuses the tests their license will be automatically suspended for 1 year. A $400 fee must be paid before the license can be reinstated. If the driver complies with the testing and fails, they lose driving privileges for 30 days. Penalties may be greater for those with multiple offenses / refusals.
Direct consequences for first time DUI offenders in Kansas may result in a fine of $500 - $1000, driving restrictions, alcohol education / treatment, and jail time of 2 days to 6 months. For a second offense, the driver must pay a fine of $1000 to $1500, complete an alcohol treatment program, license suspension, or imprisonment of 90 days to 1 year. Third, fourth, and fifth convictions result in driver license suspension of a year up to permanent revocation. The fine potential is $2500 and jail time is a minimum of 90 days.
For certain DUI cases the court may determine the drivers have their vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device. These devices measure the driver’s BAC from breath samples before starting the car, and at random times while driving.
Let a DUI Lawyer get Started Today!
Hiring a lawyer specializing in DUI law is the smart thing to do when defending your DUI charge. They can lessen the potential penalties or have the charges completely dismissed.