Maryland DWI Lawyers
|Please choose the county where your DWI in Maryland took place:|
You can be charged with a DWI in two different ways. First, is the inability to have control over your vehicle. The other is a violation of Maryland’s “per se” law by having a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater regardless of your driving ability or impairment.
If you were given a chemical test (blood, breath or urine) and your blood alcohol content was .08% or more, you are DWI in Maryland. You have the option of submitting to any of these three tests, however the blood is the most accurate.
Field Sobriety Tests
The HGN (horizontal gaze nystagmus), one leg stand and the walk and turn are field sobriety tests used by police to help determine if you have been drinking and driving. The HGN test is conducted by having you follow an object with your eyes. The one leg stand and walk and turn are a test of your balance and coordination.
For even a first-time DWI offense in Maryland, you could get 1 year in jail. You will receive 8 points on your license and have this suspended for 60 days. You could also face probation, community service, vehicle impoundment (which can lead to loss of job), ignition interlock system, insurance problems, alcohol treatment classes and even restricted travel.
If deemed by the court, this machine will be placed in your car. You must breathe into the device alcohol-free in order to start your car.
In Maryland, if you are under 21 and have any alcohol in your system while driving, you are charged with DWI. With a BAC of .02% or higher, the fine is $500.
Hiring a DWI Lawyer
Now you know how important it is to find a lawyer to defend your DWI case – but where should you look? Maryland has some of the nation’s best DWI defense attorneys – make sure you find one of them.