Michigan DUI Lawyers
For a first offense, you can spend up to 93 days in jail and up to 45 days of community service. Your fine will range from $100 to $500 and your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days. You can also face: vehicle impoundment (which leads to losing your job!), insurance rates skyrocketing, ignition interlock device, alcohol treatment and even restricted travel.
A blood alcohol content of .08 or higher is a criminal offense in Michigan. To determine your BAC, police will ask you to submit to one of three chemical tests (blood, breath or urine). The breath test is the only one which can be administered by police. Blood and urine testing must be conducted at a hospital by trained medical professionals.
Field Sobriety Tests
Here are three tests you were probably never given in school: the HGN (horizontal gaze nystagmus), the one leg stand and the walk and turn. The HGN has you follow an object with your eyes, while the other tests your balance.
If the judge orders, this machine will be installed in your car at your expense. You must breathe into the device alcohol-free in order to start your vehicle.
Anyone under 21 years old is prohibited from driving with a BAC level. If caught, they will receive a $250 fine and/or 60 days of community service. They will also have a 30 day waiting period for their license to be reinstated.
Your DUI Lawyer
Think of your DUI lawyer as your window of opportunity. Don’t just settle for any lawyer – and don’t just go to a lawyer with great credentials. Make sure the lawyer you choose to represent you is skilled and specializes in DUI law!