Mississippi DUI Lawyers
|Please choose the county where your Mississippi DUI took place:|
Are you finding it ironic to the live in the “Hospitality State” and have a DUI charge? In fact, when it comes to a DUI, Mississippi may be very inhospitable! You may be wondering what happens after your DUI arrest. First, you will be attended two separate cases: criminal and the Department of Motor Vehicles case. As you probably guessed, the latter has to do only with your driver’s license.
If you refused to take a chemical test, you have only 10 days to request a hearing with the DMV after you have a received a letter of intent to suspend, otherwise you will automatically lose your license for 90 days to 1 year. This happens prior to any criminal court case.
Even if this was your first time offense you can spend 48 hours in jail. Your fine will range from $250 to $1,000 and you must complete an alcohol education safety program. After 30 days from your arrest, you may apply for a hardship license to get to school, work or medical appointments. You may also face: probation, community service, vehicle impoundment, ignition interlock device, loss of job, restricted travel and insurance coverage complications.
You are DUI in Mississippi if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was .08% or greater. Your BAC can be determined by a chemical test (either blood, breath or urine). Police often give a breath test because it is a portable device that can be given on scene. Blood and urine tests must be administered at hospitals by a trained medical professional.
Field Sobriety Tests
Not a good test taker? Police may ask you to submit to a field sobriety test. This may be the HGN (horizontal gaze nystagmus), the one leg stand or the walk and turn. Each is conducted at the scene of the stop and will test for things like balance and any involuntary eye jerking.
Ignition Interlock Device
If ordered by a judge, this device will be installed in your car at your expense. You must blow into the machine alcohol-free to start your vehicle.
If you are under age 21 and had a BAC between .02% and .08%, your license will be suspended for 90 days and you may be fined up to $250 for a first offense.
Hire a Qualified DUI Lawyer
So if you’re still looking for a little Southern hospitality, find a DUI lawyer right in Mississippi. He or she can help you win your case and reduce the charges against you!