Missouri DWI Lawyers
Is the Show Me State showing you a hard time when it comes to a DWI charge? Known as driving while intoxicated in Missouri, this state has a “per se” law. This means that it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher. If you are arrested and refuse to take a chemical test, this can be used against you in court.
It’s important to note that you only have 15 days after your arrest to requesting a hearing with the Department of Revenue. If not, you will automatically lose your license for 30 days, followed by a 60-day restricted driving penalty.
Show Me the Penalties
For a first offense, you could spend up to 6 months in jail and receive a fine of $500. You will be on probation from 1 to 2 years, which means you can’t drink, break the law and you must attend the Substance Abuse Traffic Offenders Program. You may also have: restricted travel, insurance problems, community service, vehicle impoundment, ignition interlock device installed, alcohol education courses and loss of job.
Your blood alcohol content cannot exceed .08% or you will be DWI in Missouri. This can be determined through chemical testing. You’ll have your choice of blood, breath or urine testing. Breath tests are the only ones given by police themselves. Blood and urine tests must be conducted at a hospital. Only trained medical professionals can administer these tests. And blood tests are regarded as the most accurate of the three.
Field Sobriety Tests
The one leg stand, horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN) and the walk and turn are common FSTs used by police. They will test your balance and involuntary eye jerking to determine if you are drinking and driving.
Ignition Interlock System
This machine is installed in your car and won’t start the vehicle until you breath into the device alcohol-free. The device costs $50.00-100.00 to install and $50.00-$75.00 per month to maintain.
You are DWI in Missouri if you are under 21 and have any alcohol in your system.
When looking for the right attorney to represent you, make sure you find one who specializes in DWI cases – they’re out there! If you find the right lawyer, they can reduce your charges and win your case.