Nevada DUI Lawyers
|Please choose the county where your Nevada DUI took place:|
Are you finding it tough to see the silver lining of your DUI cloud living in the Silver State? That’s because Nevada is home to some of the nation’s toughest DUI laws. After your arrest, you’re actually going to face two separate cases, the criminal case and the case with the Nevada DMV. You only have a limited amount of time after your arrest date to request a hearing with the DMVs office of administrative hearings, otherwise you will lose your license automatically.
In Nevada, driving under the influence can be determined if you operate a vehicle under alcohol and it affects your driving safety and the safety of others. Nevada also has a “per se” law, which makes it illegal to drive with a BAC of .08% regardless of whether or not you are impaired.
Nevada DUI Penalties
Here’s what you can expect for a first offense: 2 days to 6 months in jail or 48 to 96 hours of community service, a fine of $400 to $1,000, license revoked for 90 days, vehicle impoundment, loss of job, probation, ignition interlock device, restricted travel, insurance problems and alcohol treatment.
If your BAC is .08% or more in Nevada, you are DUI. Your BAC is blood alcohol content and it can be measured by chemical tests (blood, breath and urine). You will only be given one and blood and urine tests must be administered in a hospital by qualified medical personnel.
Field Sobriety Tests
The one leg stand, walk and turn and HGN (horizontal gaze nystagmus) are common FSTs given by police to help determine one’s sobriety. The HGN tests for any involuntary eye jerking. The one leg stand and walk and turn test your balance.
Ignition Interlock Device
The court may order this device to be installed in your car for 3 to 6 months. You must blow into the machine alcohol-free to start your vehicle.
The blood alcohol limit for those under 21 is.02%. Your license will be revoked for 90 days, and you will be subject to criminal penalties if over this limit. You must pay $100 to have an alcohol evaluation done.
Don’t Gamble on a Lawyer
While known for its gambling city, Vegas, don’t take a chance on your DUI case if you live in Nevada. There are many qualified, experienced lawyers who specialize in DUI. Give one of them a call today.