Washington DUI Lawyers
|Please choose the county where your Washington DUI took place:|
The only state named after a president is home to strict DUI laws. So if you reside in the Evergreen State and have been charged with a DUI, you need to know what you’re up against. Washington State has a “per se” law, which means that you can be charged with a DUI if you have a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater while driving. However, because of the Zero Tolerance law, those under 21 cannot have a BAC level of .02% or higher, or he or she will be charged with a DUI.
Seattle is one of the state’s busiest municipal courts and also has unique policies and procedures. If you are arrested for a DUI in Seattle, you are required to appear in court with 48 business hours following the day of your arrest. In the rest of the state, it can take up to a month or more to have to appear in court.
The mandatory minimum jail time is 24 hours, but may be up to 1 year. If your BAC was .15% or higher, then 48 hours of jail time are mandatory. Your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days and you only have 30 days to request a hearing with the state’s department of motor vehicles. Otherwise, your license will automatically be suspended. Other penalties may include: probation, community service, insurance problems, loss of job, alcohol treatment, vehicle impoundment, ignition interlock device and restricted travel.
Your blood alcohol content cannot exceed .08% while driving or you will be charged with a DUI. These can be measured by a blood, breath or urine chemical test. Blood and urine tests must be administered by qualified medical professionals.
Field Sobriety Tests
FSTs are tools that police use to help solidify their suspicions of drinking and driving. They may use the HGN (horizontal gaze nystagmus), the one leg stand or the walk and turn. For the HGN, you will be told to follow an object with your eyes. During the one leg stand and walk and turn, your balance and coordination will be tested.
Ignition Interlock Device
At the judge’s discretion, this device will be installed in your car to prevent it from starting if you register alcohol during the breath test.
Your DUI Defense Attorney
Washington is home to some of the nation’s top DUI defense attorneys. Find one who specializes in DUI and you have the potential to win your case or have your charges drastically reduced.