Wyoming DUI Lawyers
|Please choose the county where your Wyoming DUI took place:|
Feeling lassoed in by the Cowboy State’s DUI Laws? That’s probably because Wyoming’s DUI laws are some of the toughest in the United States. Home to anti-plea bargaining laws, prosecutors are not allowed to reduce or dismiss a DUI charge without filing a motion in open court indicating that there is insufficient evidence to proceed on the DUI offense. That’s why you must hire a Wyoming defense attorney who deals specifically with DUI cases like yours.
If you have a BAC of .08% or over, you can be arrested for a DUI and Wyoming has no minimum mandatory jail sentence for even first time offenders. Wyoming’s program “Probation Before Sentencing” is for first time offenders and allows them to serve 6 months of probation instead of receiving jail time. You can expect to pay fines from $250 to $750 and you can also lose your job if sentenced to community service and if your vehicle is impounded. Your driver’s license will also be suspended for 90 days. Other penalties may include: insurance coverage problems, ignition interlock device, alcohol education treatment, and restricted travel.
It is illegal to drive with a BAC (blood alcohol level) of .08% or higher in Wyoming. This is their “per se” law, which means that it doesn’t matter whether the driver is impaired or not, but whether they failed chemical test results. The three chemical tests given by police officers are blood, breathe and urine and breathe testing is the only one that police officers may perform.
Field Sobriety Tests
The three FSTs are the HGN (horizontal gaze nystagmus), the one leg stand and the walk and turn. The HGN tests for any involuntary jerking of the eyes while the other two test for balance and coordination.
Administrative License Suspension
You will face a criminal court with a DUI charge and also a hearing with the Wyoming Department of Transportation. Your license can be suspended for 90 days at this hearing.
Ignition Interlock System
The court may order this device to be placed in your car. This machine will not allow you to start your car until you blow into the device with no alcohol detected on your breath.
If you are under 21 and your BAC was .02% or higher, your license will be suspended for 90 days and you may face a fine of up to $750.
Your DUI Defense Attorney
Under Wyoming’s DUI laws, you can be facing very serious penalties! Don’t fall victim – hire a specialized DUI attorney right in your state of Wyoming.